I Forge Iron

need help Getting Oil to the front Cylinder

Hello this is my first time asking for help on IforgeIron even though i am regularly referring to past forums for advise. I am working on an older Kuhn power hammer it is a K23 from I believe the mid 90s. It is the older style with the cylinder exhaust chamber in the top back of the hammer. So here my problem. There is not enough oil getting to the front cylinder of the hammer. I have adjusted the oiler to fully open and then to just before closed and everywhere in between. What seems to be happening is that most if not all of the oil goes in the back cylinder and into the 3 way valve on the top air passage and strait up to the exhaust chamber.  I know this because of the excessive amount of oil draining from this exhaust chamber. I have taken both the tops of the cylinders off to check the condition of the cylinders they look fine. The hammer is also hitting well and doesn't seem to be loosing much air as in the front cylinder doesn't just drop when turned off. Could my oil be to thick? I am using 30 weight non detergent which is what the operating manual suggested. Could there not be enough resist from the exhaust? Is that a thing? This is a great hammer and has probably taken a lot of abuse due to the fact that it is in an educational environment. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks

Nick 

I have a Reiter K23, machine no. 549 from the 80s (Dr Reiter designed it, Kuhn made it and then bought Reiter out) and have always used ISO 32 hydraulic oil in it. Are you sure your book tells you to use engine oil? It has no need to suspend combustion detritus so compressor or hydraulic oil should be more appropriate, others more knowledgeable will hopefully comment. My book specified hydraulic and I have used that in all my hammers (ISO 100 in the 1 and 3 cwt Alldays and Onions)