I Forge Iron

50cm knife made from steel

W1p3rA

Hey guys!

I'm completely new to this kind of hobby, which I developed in a few days (funny I know).

I would like to make a knife myself, but being unfamiliar with the topic I turn to you guys, experts and experienced people.

I would like to know the whole procedure of making a complex (for me) knife that is multifunctial such as using it for cutting, as an axe, sawing.

I dared to make same 3D models of my dream knife, however I didn't think about the handle yet.

http://kepfeltoltes.hu/160827/knife_www.kepfeltoltes.hu_.png 
http://kepfeltoltes.hu/160827/knife2_www.kepfeltoltes.hu_.png 
http://kepfeltoltes.hu/160827/knife3_www.kepfeltoltes.hu_.png 
http://kepfeltoltes.hu/160827/knife4_www.kepfeltoltes.hu_.png 

I want to order a 5x50x500mm steel piece to cut my knife scheme from it which looks like this: 811850344knife4_www.kepfeltoltes.hu_.png

It is a one hand knife with 10cm handle and at least 35cm blade (the 5cm would be dull for pulling out of wood with 2 hands if stuck or for making sparks with firesteel).

Since I do not know whether it is important how deep the edge is beveled, I made it 15mm and the sawback is 7mm deep with 5mm teeth and 2mm gaps.

I do not own a blacksmith forge or any other accessories (I have hammers files stones grinders and gas for heating).

I would like your help in the whole procedure like beveling the edge making the saw, heat treating and tempering. Yet I don't know the carbon amount in the steel, I have to ask the seller to tell me every information needed for crafting such item.

Please excuse my elaborateness but I'm a complete newbie without experience.

I hope somebody will be able to help me, and join your glorious community of having a self made item! :)

Starting with stock removal isn't at all a waste of time. Many of the knife gurues forget to tell new folks is that you still remove a lot of material from forged knives and all the related parts.