I Forge Iron

Chance to Connect with AK Smiths?

I've lurked this forum for quite a while, so I figure an introduction is due. I'm 25 years old, and an aircraft mechanic by trade. Currently, I'm the maintenance manager for a Bible camp, and a hobbyist bladesmith. My smithing skills are entirely self taught via books and extensive internet research, and due to that, they are relatively lacking. Which brings me to my first question, are there any smiths in the Palmer/Wasilla or Anchorage areas that would be interested in meeting up to give me a few pointers around the time of the State Fair? I know that its probably a bad time of year, but I don't make it into "town" very often.

My next issue is probably a common one, but I'm struggling to find good anvil, or anvil substitute. Anyone know where I can get/find/buy a forklift fork, large diameter axle, or other good anvil substitute? I'm currently using one made from the replaceable bit from a road grader blade. It's so-so at best, but all I've been able to get my hands on so far. I don't mind paying good money for one as long as I can get a good working anvil or post anvil from it. Since I have to ship it out to my town via air freight, I'll already have $0.50-$1.00 per pound in shipping above whatever the original purchase price is.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome aboard, glad to have you! Yeah, there are a few of us in the Mat Su and Anchorage area and as many spread out around the state as well. I don't know of any on Lake Clark though but funny as it may sound I'd bet dollars to donuts there are a couple few anvils around. Lake Clark and Illiamna have been pretty intensely fished for a long LONG time. Where there is commercial fishing before it was cheap to fly parts in there were blacksmiths. You might start asking around you might be surprised what's sunk into the ground out back of an old cannery, chandlery, etc.