I Forge Iron

manufacturing process of fencing blades

naliyeva

Hi,

I am a student and I have a project about fencing weapons. I need to learn the manufacturing route of process. I have to fing a detailed information of the production of the blades. In spite of all effort I cannot reach enough information such as heat treatment all forging. Are there anyone who informe me ? Please help me because it is so important

Did you look at the knife or sword, or heat treating sections on this site? Lots of information  there.

May want to add your location as there may be blacksmiths or bladesmiths in your area.

Try calling a fencing school and asking who the manufacturers of the swords they use are. Then try contacting the manufacturer. Just do NOT expect to get very much information, every company will have proprietary methods, (secret) and they aren't going to share. However they may be willing to give you some general information. Fencing, "Sporting" swords are made to very strict performance standards.

You may be able to fulfill your report requirements if you can explain the performance specifications, what that means and why they are so important. How sport swords perform and more importantly how they fail is FAR more important than how they are made.

Frosty The Lucky.

13 hours ago, Rashelle said:

You can look up maraging steel.

thank you
I read a lot of things about them. As I learned the weapons made from maraging is generally used in international competitons. But I try to find someting about middle quality blades which made from spring steels. I wondered the shaping of blades and also some parameters of process. Unfortunately I cannot. 

15 hours ago, Glenn said:

Did you look at the knife or sword, or heat treating sections on this site? Lots of information  there.

May want to add your location as there may be blacksmiths or bladesmiths in your area.

Firstly thank you for response