I Forge Iron

yet another newbie blacksmith

I just setup my home forge 2 weeks ago and I'm having a blast.  I've been a hobby woodworker for a long time, so I mostly want to make useful tools (chisels, spokeshaves, drawknives, axes, adzes, hammers, and the like).  Bought a chile forge, as I didn't want to mess with building a homemade pile of explosive propane near my highly-flammable wood shop.  I only have a cheap vulcan 50 lb anvil for now, but I fixed it to a very heavy welded stand for extra mass (probably over 200 lbs total).  I've attached a few photos.  First is my driveway forging setup (I live in a pretty blue collar area, thankfully... neighbors don't seem to mind).  Then pictures of what I forged: a hardy hot cutter, "perfect handle" screwdriver (in progress), and a kitchen cleaver that kind of looks like a pirate sword.  I've been using mostly O1 tool steel from Enco for stock, and heat treating it in the forge and my kitchen oven.  I have a thermocouple for the forge that I use for heat treatment.  

DSC_1516.jpg

DSC_1524.jpg

DSC_1532.jpg

DSC_1546.jpg

DSC_1578.jpg

Welcome aboard Bob, glad to have you. Pretty nice stand and easy to fit a larger anvil on. Thinking ahead is a GOOD thing. You weld I take it.

Vulcan might not be top shelf but it's far from the bottom either, it's a good working mid level anvil. I've used worse to good effect.

I'm not fond of how you have the fuel plumbed to the burners. When you shut it off all the heat i the forge will chimney up through the burners unless you close the air intakes and even then they WILL get hot. Getting hot isn't recommended treatment of rubber hoses. My final fuel lines are 1/4" copper tubing from a manifold where I can control which burners are running with 1/4 turn ball valves.