I Forge Iron

Hello from 10,000 feet!

sunset.jpg.18f351af2cab8234d2f821ad5d9a4

Ugh, I never know what to say when introducing myself. My name is Clayton, and I live in the highest incorporated city in the United States (Leadville, Colorado). I'm really new at smithing, and don't have a lot of support as far as teachers in my area. Basically, I've learned a whole bunch from youtube and the black hole that is the Internet.

I got into all this stuff because I simply need a way to relax. My job and family are fairly stressful, and smithing/making stuff is super fun. This summer, I'm working on building my first gas forge. I'm using an old propane cylinder to house everything, insulating it with kaowool and a coating of satanite. I'm hoping two 3/4" burners will be enough for the project. It's so hard to tell because I live at such a high altitude. I may have to construct some sort of blower for the thing to work properly. That's a forum post for another day though.

Please take some time to say hello. I'll try my best to respond to everybody.

Welcome board Cloudy, glad to have you. It's hard to beat blacksmithing for stress relief it's very meditative. There are thousands of posts archived here organized in categories covering darned near anything you might need to ask or know about the craft. Take some time and do some reading in areas of interest. This will give you a handle on things so you can ask good questions and understand the answers.

You shouldn't have any trouble tuning naturally aspirated burners for your elevation though gun burners are an option.

Don't sweat trying to answer everybody, just relax we're not keeping a word count on you or anything. The guys and gals are generally pretty laid back unless something stirs us up. :o Do you like puns?

Frosty The Lucky.

Welcome I've run Steve Gensheimer's aspirated propane burner at over 7000' with no issues; I need to take it up to the MRO and try it out at 10K'.