I Forge Iron

Dagger problems

Forgingnoob

II started working on a dagger its the first thing I've ever made by forging.

I have it annealed until I can afford to make a filing jig. I noticed that it is twisted, but otherwise straight. Is there a way to fix this. My anvil is an 1899 75lb Fisher and it's very warn and has some pits in it if that helps.

14609662964341435762678.jpg

1460966498851602667837.jpg

I am a relative noob too...but why not heat it up a little and straighten/flatten it? It looks like mainly the last inch or so and the blade looks like it thins out as it progresses towards the hilt. Depending on what it is made out of you might even be able to do it cold. few rabbit taps and good to go. I usually tap very lightly with the blade running lengthwise along the anvil face to get more of a flat surface.

Or...since it is annealed and it looks like you have a bit of length to work with get a couple pieces of wood , one about twice as long as the other, you can use a C-clamp to secure the tang between the two pieces and then clamp it in a vice, grind, file and then draw file it down using the wood as a backing piece....i think you have enough material to work with but if it is not a decent steel then i would just use it as filing practice..

What is it made of by the way?

I'm still pretty new to knife making, as well, but I agree with Prevenge.  Heat it up and straighten it out.  I'd also normalize it a couple of times before quenching too. Otherwise, I think you might see that bend become a permanent feature.  Nothing wrong with taking it back to the forge to fix any issues.  Its all about learning and getting experience so you can minimize problems as you move forward.