I Forge Iron

Vullgaren

Hey guys a second hand dealer just flicked these two off to me for 5$ each. Any thoughts on what the hammer on the right would be used for or could be made into? I'm a newbie so excuse my novice questions haha 

IMG_0976.JPG

from left to right: Auto body, standard ballpeen, tin knocker's hammer; tinner's hammer, etc.  Two on the right are fine for smithing work but will profit from having their faces dressed.  The "sharp" crosspeen will be good for texturing leaves for example.

The one on the right is a sheet metal forming hammer, a "creaser" I believe, straight and cross pein. The center one is a ball pein and the one on the right is too far out of frame for a good ID. What I can see is a plannishing face.

The ball pein is a blacksmith's hammer great size for riveting and light work though light for general forging. The formimg hammer is of limited use smithing though a boy can never have too many hammers.

Do you have things like flea markets, swap meets, yard, garage (boot?) sales, etc.? Hit them regularly with a few bucks in your pocket you can pick up hammers for a LOT less than $5.00, I pass if they want more than $1.00 and am really looking for ones with broken handles, they go for less than $0.50 I bundle if possible. Slab handles are much better for forging IMNSHO.

Argh! Thomas AGAIN :P.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks Frosty! They're few and far between where I live in NZ. I've been scouring all the second hand shops on the Manawatu. What on earth is a slab handle by the way?

20 minutes ago, Frosty said:

The one on the right is a sheet metal forming hammer, a "creaser" I believe, straight and cross pein. The center one is a ball pein and the one on the right is too far out of frame for a good ID. What I can see is a plannishing face.