I Forge Iron

Ringing?

I am totally new to anvils, so be gentle. I have always wanted to get into blacksmithing and general metalworking, but it hasn't happened yet. I have been doing some reading on anvils, and there is a question that I don't understand.

I have heard guys talking about cheap vs. quality anvils, and I understand that differences in iron/steel quality makes a huge difference in a lot of tools, especially those that need to be hardened. I have heard guys talking about hitting an anvil with a hammer to see if it rings and is made from a good quality material.

Where I am confused is this: It seems to me (in my admitted inexperience) that all an anvil does is to provide a large, heavy, stable surface to pound hot steel on. Why does it matter what quality the material is, as long as it doesn't deform or break under the pounding?

Thanks in advance for the education.

Several methods have been used to make anvils historically.  One of the most common was to forge weld a high carbon face onto a low carbon body---even as late as the American Civil War high carbon steel could cost 6 times as much as low carbon so you could save a LOT doing it that way.  One problem is that the face can delaminate from the body due to abuse, welding issues, etc.  When this starts the anvil that used to ring when tapped and not fastened down or bedded will stop ringing.  So this test is a good general one---like when buying a used car you might look at the exhaust to see if the engine is smoking.