I Forge Iron

Looking for help.

Hello my name is Anthony. I just moved here with my girlfriend to Bakersfield from Ohio about 4 months ago. We have been dating for 2 years and have been friends for what seems like a lifetime. The reason I come to this forum is, if you couldn't guess by the title, it's come time to pop the question. However the problem is, the ring. Yes I could go to any store and buy her a very beautiful very amazing ring that I know she would love, but I know some where out in the world there is another ring just like it. I can't have that. In my eyes a woman as unique as her needs a ring to match. Hence why I am here. I am trying to find a local talent to help me with my issue. "FOR THE ONE RING" sorry couldn't resist. 

But really even a point in the right direction would be great. Like I said I'm completely new to the state and I know it has some hidden treasures. I'd just like to dig one of those up for her.

Thanks.

Welcome aboard Anthony. Congratulations! I met my wife online when I was 45 and we got married quickly enough to scare all our friends and families. Anyway, we wanted something unique and not so traditional, neither of us wanted a diamond though I did foolishly opt for a fire opal. It didn't last too fragile for rings.

Anyway, I'd been an online friend of James Binnion for a few years and he made our rings. They're Mokume Gane from: red gold, white gold, yellow gold and silver. I specified a simple twist even though Jim really wanted to do something flashier. He twisted the billet, rolled it back into a square billet and sawed it in half. My ring is one half, Deb's is the other. Our rings are the same piece of metal and show a mirror image of the other one.

Nobody on the planet has a ring like ours and until someone invents a replicator nobody will.