I Forge Iron

Critique my half formed idea?

GlassCowboy86

Ok,

well first off, howdy all, my name is Ray. I am a glassblower from Fort Worth Tx, I've been blowing glass for about 4 years now. I decided to build a forge, a project I'm still working on, but I've done a bit of metal work, and I really enjoy it. So, as for my idea, not really much to go on I know, I want to use smithing with glass, I graduate with my degree in art, with a concentration in glass, in May. I'd like to see what y'all think of the idea and what y'all think would be cool as far as using smithing with glass work. A bit of background, I am a disabled combat veteran, my work is mainly abstract sculpture with idea being that each piece is made by me trying to put crazy stuff in my head into the piece. I'd appreciate hearing what y'all think of the idea.

~GC

First off,Hi Ray, Thank you for your service. second, i'd love to see what you come up with. i'm sure in artistic forms you could add glass and steel in so many ways it could make your head spin. I know if I knew how to work with glass i'd be doing some sculptures with them both. need ideas where to start? think winged insects (butterflies/dragonflies) or flowers, but the ideas are endless. 

Hi Ray.  Thank you for your service.  I'm new to smithing, so can't offer much advice, but as I've been teaching myself how to heat and form metal, I've also been wondering about learning how to blow glass and melding the two arts together.  There's no way I have the time to learn glass blowing, but I would love to see what you come up with.  In my mind, I was picturing something like garden sculptures, using the iron to hold glass globes and other dangly  glass things, but like Daswulf said, the ideas are endless.  Let your mind flow.

Hi Ray, welcome to the site!