I Forge Iron

Chassis Titan prototype

TheoRockNazz

Hello again,

Here is the piece I've been working on for several months, and even have a patent pending for aspects of. The honeycomb mesh is lofted 1mm-2mm, and allows for air flow under the palm in an attempt to maintain a solid grip through sweat/blood/etc. Swinging it around you feel a slight breeze under your hand. 

20151027_124119-01.thumb.jpeg.4472ee527120151027_124231-01.thumb.jpeg.37ecfab6c120151027_124307-01.thumb.jpeg.8cf466fafb20151027_124319-01.thumb.jpeg.3e218cd4b520151027_124338-01.thumb.jpeg.0c6a0a3b9420151027_124408-01.thumb.jpeg.017b84680c20151027_125235-01.thumb.jpeg.ddf0d5e472

Here it is with the folder version (that I've been using heavily):20151027_142407-02.thumb.jpeg.151bc95ba5

The blade is W2 with a random hamon. After polishing to 1200 I gave it a quick hot blue, something I want to start doing for all my blades... however I then made the mistake of wiping it down after with 1200 grit in random directions, fudging up the satin finish a bit. Wood's stabilized burl for easy cleanup when it does get dirty, which it will; I plan on putting this design through it's paces after some more glamour shots. This'll probably be the first knife I send off to Sharp's or Point Seven... then I'll beat the living snot outta it. 

This is a prototype, and I can already see there are areas that can be improved. Where the ring join in the subhilt area needs to be perpendicular. I have to print and cast a thinner mesh to reduce weight and reduce the offset of the lofted mesh. The flow from the blade to handle could be smoother. While the edges of the printed components are rounded off and comfortable to hold, only once I start using it will I know for sure if they will need to be rounded off more.

2015-10-27_12.44.41.thumb.jpg.56961505f52015-10-27_12.44.57.thumb.jpg.beec2c9f9a2015-10-27_12.45.08.thumb.jpg.fcfc5d82912015-10-27_12.45.27.thumb.jpg.17c1b80db5

Let me know what ya'll think,

Theo