I Forge Iron

Miscellaneous tools for a newbie

Hello all,

I'm very new to blacksmithing and I'm curious about what types of little odds and ends I should pick up to make my life a little bit easier.  I'm currently going through Blacksmithing 101 at the Antique Gas & Steam Engine Museum in Vista, CA.  The school is very good about making sure you have everything you NEED and has you make your own tools as you progress.  That being said, on a recent project I found myself trying to eyeball some lengths to make two duplicate pieces (which didn't go so well).  I've also found myself trying to share a wire brush with 10 other people (it doesn't work).  So, in an effort to make my life easier, I was thinking about getting some soap stone, some kind of measuring device, and a wire brush.

My question is 2 parts.

1)  Are there any other miscellaneous little odds and ends that you think I'll want?

2)  Of the items I've mentioned as well as any suggestions for additional items, are there specific brands, kinds, or features I should be looking for?

Thanks in advance all.

Steve

It may be a good idea to ask for a list of what tools they will have you making over the coming lessons,,,,,, then you can omit them from the list you are compiling, I should imagine they will be made in the order you'll be needing them.

On more than one occasion I've used a piece of string to take and transfer a measurement when I've no tape or rule to hand! .......( I just know someone is going to ask the inevitable question now,,,)

On more than one occasion I've used a piece of string to take and transfer a measurement when I've no tape or rule to hand! .......( I just know someone is going to ask the inevitable question now,,,)

Now I have to ask is that string Metric or inches?  I'm sorry just too good to let pass:rolleyes:

Hanz