I Forge Iron

6"X48" Belt Grinder for Blades

Ok so I have recently been getting into bladesmithing although I have been doing blacksmithing for a couple of years now. I have a small 2”x18” belt grinder at home which I have used for some small knives I have made but I go through belts incredibly fast and was looking to upgrade to a larger model. That being said the common 2”x72” belt grinder is set way out of my price range right now as the technical building of it is a bit beyond me and in Canada the only supplier sells them for about 2000 bucks. I have found this 6”x48” belt grinder though and think it looks like a promising option but I wanted to know if anyone has any experience working with such a wide belt and any problems I might face.

Any advice appreciated.

I have a 150mm x 2000mm belt grinder, so same width, bit longer loop....very aggressive with a 24 grit belt in it. Good surface for domestic stuff with a 400 grit belt. 

I have used it to reshape some knives but I am not a knife maker by any means.

Brilliant machine for general work. Most of the time it is set up with 24 or 36 grit zirconium belt for ripping material away. Occasionally I have a 120 grit or finer for finishing.

Alan

Personally I found that the wide belts didn't suit me well for knife grinding.  They are ok for making sure the stock is flat and true after forging, but when working on curved portions the width works against what I'm trying to do.  Before I built a 2x72 grinder I was working on a 4x36 sander/grinder and its construction also made it difficult to grind plunge lines or any other work where you need a relatively sharp transition in material thickness. If the grinder you're looking at has a flat platen where you can access the edges of the belt without your stock hitting anything else then it might work well for you.