I Forge Iron

Beginner Blacksmith

Johnny40

Hi, im a beginner blacksmith, and i wanted to know if it was possible to use a simple 1lb torch head with a hose directly in a 20lb propane tank to heat up a small homemade paint container forge. If not, wich torch and or material should i get to heat it up to the right temperature. Keep in mind that i am a student with really low budget.

Torch that i have : http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31cgyK4N--L._SX466_.jpg

Hose that i will get : http://www.devardiglass.com/hose.JPG

Sorry if i made grammar mistake, im french.

forge.jpg

I tried to heat my forge with a 1lb propane tank WITH the small torch but it wasn't hot enough, around 700-800c.... not enough to forge but i dont know if if just need a new torch OR just try it with a 20lb tank + hose.

i got a hose for my 20lb tank today but i was wondering if i need to also get a regulator and wich torch i should use. I tried to find some detailed video or plan on how to make a propane burner but i can't find any. :(

i got a hose for my 20lb tank today but i was wondering if i need to also get a regulator and wich torch i should use. I tried to find some detailed video or plan on how to make a propane burner but i can't find any. :(

yes you need a good quality adjustable regulator, 0-30psi is typical. And did you search t-burner on here?

A 1/2" t-burner would probably work fine for your paint can forge, especially if you move the burner inlet to the middle.

BTW, the t-burner was invented by the fellow who posted just above you, Frosty.

Edited by LastRonin

Johnny: I had a more thorough reply Forbidden yesterday and forgot to save it first. <sigh>

Search under gas forges, it'll turn up, I didn't post it as plans or instructions just a concept sketch for an old style.