I Forge Iron

How do I make a hardy Hole in a home made anvil?

I am making my first anvil from a piece of RR track. I want to add a hardy hole and trying to think of the best way to do it. I can drill it to size, could I then heat it and drive a square punch in. or is there a better way? Any Ideas on a good size I have seen them in 3/4 and 1". the round hole should be no issue. I am new to Blacksmithing, but not to metal working. Any help will be appreciated.
mark

I've seen them elsewhere but I can't for the life of me remember where.They make a pre made hardy hole that drops into a predrilled hole. So, you'll drill say an inch wide hole so you can drop in an inch wide piece of steel with a square hardy hole in the middle. Ad ten you just tack the "insert" onto your piece of rr track. I remember them being around 45 dollars.

Make one from 1" heavy section angle iron and weld two pieces together to make the "hole". Then weld it to something other than the rail. The hardy hole doesn't need to be in the anvil, that's an urban myth. Heck just find a good piece of heavy wall 1" ID square pipe and put a spike on it so you can drive it in a wood block. I like my post vise for all but a couple bottom tools the hardy being one.

You could just sharpen the web on the rail and use it for the hardy. So what if you have to swing the hammer sideways so long as it cuts. Right?

Frosty The Lucky.

I don't know what machinery you have, but I cut my rr track in two along where I wanted one edge of the Hardie hole. Put it in a mill and used a 25mm cutter to cut a slot, then welded the two pieces back together. It worked, but it definitely wasn't worth the effort.