I Forge Iron

Wrought iron lizard

A friend brought over a piece of iron/steel he thought I might like to have.  I asked him where it came from and he related that it was an old wagon wheel tire.  When I asked him how old he thought it was, he replied that it was his grandfather's.   It was about 1 3/4" wide, 3/8" thick and 3 feet long.  Bells went off....possibly wrought iron??  I had never forged with wrought iron before, so I thought it would be great to give it a go.  I did a spark test and a bend test on a part of it, and it was indeed wrought iron; fibrous texture and all.

In appreciation for giving it to me, I made a lizard out of a piece of the WI for his wife...she loves yard art.  Being an artist, I left the painting and coloring up to her.  I am anxious to see how it turns out.  (That's a placemat under it.)

The wrought iron was a pleasure and slightly different to forge with.  It seemed to be somewhat softer and easier to work. (The legs, BTW, were made from 1/2" mild steel rod, flattened)

Lizard.JPG

Edited by arkie

Oh she's going to love that Arkie, it's a beauty. What else have you in mind for the stock? Oh I'm assuming saying it's 38' (FEET!) is a typo but I've been wronger.

Frosty The Lucky.

​Frosty, thanks.  It was a quick forging job.  Next time, I want to spend more time and take more care with one.  BTW, it's not 38'.  My OP said 3 feet.

"It was about 1 3/4" wide, 3/8" thick and 3 feet long."

Wish I had more.  He's gonna look to see if there is more.

Edited by arkie

• 2 weeks later...

Update on the lizard.  The lady, an artist, took some artistic liberty and went wild with paint.  Made a psychodelic lizard out of it.  Even had glitter on it's toenails and rhinestones for eyes...really off the wall on that one!!!!

Lizard painted 01.JPG

It looks nice the way she painted it. Personally I liked it better before it was painted, but it is hers to do as she wishes. Great job on forging it though.