I Forge Iron

New Guy With a New (to me) Anvil Help with ID

Greetings!

My name is Mike, I've been lurking a while, and have learned a lot from this forum, thanks to all the great folks who hang out here!  I'm just getting started with blacksmith work, and have a lot more to learn!  I have a smaller anvil that's not too bad, but found this one today that I grabbed sort of spur of the moment, and I'm trying to find out anything about it I can.

I paid $200 for it...   I have no idea what brand it is, but from the little research I did it appears to maybe a Trenton.  I'm guessing the 245 on the left front is the weight, and it does seem to be that weight (oh my aching back!)

The serial number on the other hand is not so easy to read...  I took a wire brush to it and from what I can see in all the angles and lighting I used, it appears to be 778669, but the first two 7s are a reach, it's just very faint.  The guy I purchased it from said he found it buried in the ground on the site of an old barn when he was excavating for a septic field.  It does have some moderate pitting on the horn and one side, so not too sure how that's going to affect it's use.

Good news is that if it's not that great of an anvil, I already have an offer of $300 for it, so either way I'm money ahead!

It has a good ring and rebound, but I'm a little concerned with the condition of the edges and the pitting.  I'm just getting started in all this so any help or info on this anvil would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Mike

post-56916-0-32724700-1416697235_thumb.j  post-56916-0-79271600-1416697285_thumb.j  post-56916-0-19641600-1416697327_thumb.j  post-56916-0-79740400-1416697607_thumb.j  post-56916-0-68695100-1416697646_thumb.j

To be honest, the anvil is in fine condition and BTW you stole it. It is a Trenton. I wouldn't worry about the edges they really aren't that bad.I have used far worse anvils with excellent results.