Ser Menalak

New member: Ser Menalak

Hello everyone,

I have made a few posts already but I thought I'd introduce myself properly. So, my name is Brendan and I live in MA, USA. I am currently a student studying electrical engineering here in MA. I believe what got me really interested in blacksmithing was the Man at Arms YouTube channel when he made Jaime Lannister's sword from Game of Thrones. I thought it just seemed so cool, not necessarily the final product but all the hammering, heat, and historical feeling (like reading next to candlelight when the power is out). I also have a minor in history though so I have always been interested in the crafts of yesteryear and being a part of such an old tradition. So, about two months ago I took an intro to blacksmithing class where I made the S hook seen below. Since then I have tried to gather materials and jerryrig myself a forge and anvil. I haven't been able to make a lot of things because I lack the resources but I have been on the lookout. The first thing I made at home was simply a 90 degree rake thing for moving the coal around. It was made out of rebar. The second thing I made just recently is a simple wall hook you can see below. I have no proper anvil and as such no horn so I had to just make the bend on a 90 degree edge. I also have no holes to hit something through so I had to drill the hole for the nail/screw after trying for ten minutes with a punch. Anyways, I have already received a lot of good help from you guys and hope some point in the future I can return it.

t56r6b.jpg21l0i15.jpg2mqtehl.jpg

Where-abouts in MA are you? If you are nearby Boston, feel free to message me and get some hammer time in at my shop. I have plenty of anvils to use  :).  Welcome to the forum.

Where-abouts in MA are you? If you are nearby Boston, feel free to message me and get some hammer time in at my shop. I have plenty of anvils to use  :).  Welcome to the forum.