I Forge Iron

Control Heat on a Carbon Arc Torch

I have a twin electrode carbon arc torch made by Craftsman/Sears and Roebuck in the mid-60's, in perfect condition, along with the ground clamp and cable, and the stick clamp and cable from the same welder, in the same condition.
I really really want to get proficient at a very unconventional setup.
I want to use 2 car batteries as the sole power source for both the carbon arc torch and the arc welder. I want to be proficient at cutting, welding, Brazing, and heating, using only these two methods, powered by the batteries. I'll be charging the batteries as needed.

I only intend on welding, brazing, cutting and bending bicycle frames and parts. Occasionally I may want to do thicker material for brackets and such, but not more than .250".

I'm not a very proficient welder unless it's tig, so I don't have much to draw on from other skills.

My question is about heat control. It seems to me that the only difference between these several methods is a matter of heat. So, I need to know how I can control heat. My voltage source will be, for the most-part, constant. The amount of time I hold an arc in one place can help control the total heat but not the temperature rise, so heating too much of the part for too long can become a problem.
What other ways can I control the heat?

Thanks