I Forge Iron

*Buildlog* First Shop (w/ pictures!)

Hello everyone!

I am fairly new to blacksmithing and decided that after 3 years of forging outside (and not being able to forge when the weather is bad) I decided to build my own shop. I am a student and thus I am only able to forge (and work on my shop) in the weekends, so expect a weekly update on this (hopefully amazing) buildlog.

The space I'll be using is 2.80x3 meters (or 9'x10'). I guess it used to be the home to some pigs or rabits by the structuring of the place (metal rings in the walls, a gut for the water, no plate between roof and inside). I'll upload as many pictures as I can during the building of this place. I just finished cleaning it all out (took me more than 10 hours!) and don't want to show a before image ;).

post-51327-0-09123800-1392297212_thumb.j

post-51327-0-19820500-1392297219_thumb.j

I just bought a leg vise (without spring unfortunatly), which will be one of the first things to be installed after I get my bench moved. (it's standing ready to be moved in as you see on the picture)

I'll put a pipe in the ground so the vise sits secure and I'll also secure it through the wall with a large metal bar to give it extra stability (all attached to my wooden workbench). My avil will come in the middle of the room and I'll try to make a forge in the corner of the room. (check out this sketchup model I made)

post-51327-0-22469600-1392297934_thumb.p

To give you guys some orientation: the forge is placed against the wall with the small window and where the lader is currently standing in the picture.

I don't have a lot of tools as for now, so I'll just keep my hammers and tongs in a wooden box until I know how to make a decent roolrack.

There are still a few things I need some help with and don't find any usefull/realistic solutions to.

1) I need a hood/sidedraft forge, but every book/website tells me I need a chimney that is 4 feet longer than the highest point of my roof.