I Forge Iron

Is it possible to make a blade stay blue after quenching?

Is it possible to make a blade stay blue after quenching? I just watched a video that showed Tony Swatton heat treat a sword made out of 5160 spring steel to a blue temper and then when the sword was completely finished it was still that same blue color. I am new to blacksmithing and the heat treating process but from all my research I did not think that was possible. So my question is is it possible? and if it is how is it done?

The part in question is at 3:58

The phenomenon you  are describing is called temper coloring, or the temper spectrum.

Essentially, as the shiny steel is heated, a clear layer of oxide forms over the surface.  This layer bends the light bouncing off the steel, changing the color.  It starts out as a pale yellow, then deepens to gold, bronze, peacock (a brownish-purple), indigo, blue, light blue, and then a pale grey-green.  The color depends on the temperature the steel is subjected to, as well as the duration.

This is purely a cosmetic treatment in this case, but the temper spectrum is really useful in toughening steel that has been made hard and brittle from quenching.

If you would like more info, take a meander through the heat treat section.

I have read all about heat treating and tempering but I did not find anything that said the metal would stay blue after it was quenched and the heat treating was finished. So I am confused how the steel would stay blue or if it is even possible.

the blue oxide layer (and therefore color) remains on the surface of the steel until it is: thickened by continued application of heat(also known as running the colors); removed by chemical action (vinegar, etc); removed by mechanical abrasion (wire wheel/grinder); or altered slightly by application of a surface protectant (wax, clear coat, etc.)

you can also achieve a similar blue finish by application of something like a gun blueing chemical treatment.