I Forge Iron

Will this motor/pump work for a press?

Spruce

A guy is selling a motor/pump unit on my local craigslist for what seems like a reasonable price, and I think he'll come down.  Here's the link:

http://lasvegas.craigslist.org/tls/4155228110.html

It's only a 2 hp unit.  Can be 110 or 220 volt.  He doesn't have the flow rates of the pump, but says it originally came off a 40 ton press.  I'm wondering if I can use it for a smaller, say 20 ton press, if it will move the ram fast enough and have enough power.  I ordered the James Batson book, but don't have it yet.  Any thoughts?  The seller is trying to contact the manufacturer of the pump to find out it's flow rates - short of that, is there any convenient method of finding flow?  Just plumb it, and put the outfeed tube into a bucket and see how long it takes to fill up a gallon?  I am pretty new to the trade, and am mostly working on small stuff right now, so I think a 20 ton would be pretty handy.  I realize I could just spend my time swinging a hammer and learning more, but I think I enjoy building tools, jigs, fixtures etc. even more than most projects - I've always been like that for some reason.  Dunno why.  Anyway, thanks in advance,

Spruce

It's only a 2 hp unit. 

There you have it. Gpm's won't matter much because of this. It's likely a high pressure 3000-3500 psi low gpm unit that would be great for a SLOW press used for pressing out bearings. Forging is out of the question.

force and speed will depend on the bore of the ram used, smaller bore = faster but lower force.

I dont know about there but here there are standard sized pumps, eg size 1, size 2, size 3 and from different makers the pumps are interchangeable mostly and matching specs.

high pressure for me is 10,000 psi ( 700 bar aprox ) I have hand pumps that do that, I have powered pumps from 525 psi ( 35 bar ) to 4,500 psi (300 bar ).

I have a 20 ton steelworker, a 45 ton steelworker and a 30 ton press.