I Forge Iron

newbie from down under

Burkey

G'day all, I'm a mechanical engineering student from Australia and I've recently sectioned off an 8th of my workshop to a little blacksmithing setup. I've been making things out of anything I can for as long as I can remember, allot of woodwoking and woodturning and a fair bit of metal fabrication.

So far I've been practicing scrolls, drawing out, squareing off, twists, etc I've made myself a few tongs and a cutting hardie tool from 5160 and have a few drifts and a few more tongs I'm planning on.

If anyone can suggest a few essential/really useful tools to make up id appreceqte it. Ive tried searching but couldnt find much using my phone.

Thats about it, here's my setup.

post-47713-0-21350000-1383526569_thumb.j

Greetings and welcome Burkey,

Looks like you have a great start in your blacksmith journey.   I suggest that you find a good post vise and mount it on a mobile stand...  There are several threads on this forum that can help...  Mounting so many hammers on your anvil stump you will find get in the way after a while. I wish you well..

Forge on and make beautiful things

Jim

Greetings and welcome Burkey,

Looks like you have a great start in your blacksmith journey.   I suggest that you find a good post vise and mount it on a mobile stand...  There are several threads on this forum that can help...  Mounting so many hammers on your anvil stump you will find get in the way after a while. I wish you well..

Jim

I have a cast steel vice thats about the same size of the anvil. It's one of my favourite tools. Vertical and horizontal pivot with a pipe clamp on the other side of the jaws. Is there much more advantage to a leg vice?