I Forge Iron

Questions on propane supply; bamberg, germany

Gijotoole

Okay gents. I am a noob when it comes to pounding hot metal. I would like to not be noob long. That's where you come in. I currently live in Germany where everything is the way it is and people don't seem to be too creative with some stuff. I am trying to build a gas forge in my yard but I gave hit a snag. None of the five hardware stores in my city have an extensive plumbing supply, so I have to order my ex burner pieces online - no kidding. The shops only carry propane supplies as prepared items, not cut-to-length hose and a large variety of fittings and couplers.

Question 1: my reg is eh thread but I can't find propane hose without a lh thread (I understand why). Can I re-thread it a eh thread to fit my reg and use some hardening dope to seal it?

Question 2: since the threads are lh and all normal plumbing stuff is rh, can I cut an end off and use an insert with a threaded end to hook-up my tubing for the burner? I would use a clamp to tighten the hose around the insert ( which looks like a rubber hose coupling - slides into the hose).

Question 3: do any of you know anywhere in Bamberg, germany that I can find a blacksmith supply? I looked on Google maps, internet, phone book, it's not the same over here. The hardware stores all carry the same stuff.

If I can't find the parts I need I'll have to go with a weed burner and try to adapt my adjustable reg to achieve welding heat. I need some help.

First, welcome to the fire and madness.

I have used hose barbs (the little insert thingee's) and hose clamps without any problem.  At some point you will need a swivel end to make it all go together.  I'm going to mention this, but I'm not advising you to do it (wink, wink), but I have seen and used the quick snap on air couplers on gas hoses.  Just saying. 

How would the regulator and bottle go together if you were building a BBQ?  The have to go together at some point.