I Forge Iron

English Vise with Stripped Screw

intrex

I recently got my first leg vise from a craigslist find.  When I was getting it off the guys truck who was selling it everything looked good and seemed to work.  The Jaws were open pretty far and I tested closing them about an inch.  I didn't realize until I got back to my house that the screw was in good condition until you got to the section of threads were the jaws were about 2 inches apart.  The rest of the threads from there on out were completely worn out and you can't close the jaws anymore.  

I have read the topic about how to forge braze new square threads into the box.  If I want to go that route I think I am going to have to forge new screw threads and box threads.  I would really like to keep the original historical design of this vise and recondition it to be functional but am nervous about trying to take on this project.  I am a very novice smith and not sure if I will be able to tackle a project like this.  It seems like getting the original threads off the screw and out of the box is going to be a serious job in itself.  

Has anyone on here done this before?  What stock did you use for the threads?  What filler would you use for the braze?  Should I abandon the idea of forge brazing threads and just get a large acme threaded rod and bolt? Any ideas or pointers are greatly appreciated. 

post-29950-0-32836100-1382712720_thumb.j

post-29950-0-85378100-1382712726_thumb.j

Talk with your local VoTech; sometimes they will do odd ball things as a class project for a donation to the end of the term party fund.  Building a new screw and screwbox would cover several machining tasks.

And you have leaned that the most important thing to look at when buying the vise is the entire screw and state of the inside of the screwbox.  Pretty much everything else is easy to repair but that.  (and note that many sellers either cannot tell if a screw thread is mint or heavily worn; or chose to mislead folks)