I Forge Iron

New to blacksmith...need advice on anvil and forge

First off let me introduce myself and say hello.  I am new to blacksmithing and am just now getting started.  I have never done it before but have recently became interested since learning more about it and talking to a few people that have been doing it for a very long time. 

I have found a guy that wants to trade me his 175 pound Hay Budden anvil that is in great shape with no repairs, cracks, or damage anywhere (made between 1894-1915) and his champion forge for my H&K AR-15 .22.  The gun is worth around $500.  I know it comes down to which is more important to me, but I need advice just in terms of value. 

Here are the pictures of the anvil and forge. 

post-47412-0-80349000-1382623446_thumb.j

post-47412-0-67776200-1382623451_thumb.j

post-47412-0-18664800-1382623455_thumb.j

post-47412-0-16434400-1382623459_thumb.j

post-47412-0-38318500-1382623463_thumb.j

post-47412-0-80562300-1382623466_thumb.j

Well location can change the price by as much as 50%; we don't even know what country you are in!  In general that anvil would be US$2-3/# here in the United States.  Higher on the coasts, cheaper in Ohio, and way more expensive in Hawaii or Alaska.

Where is the champion forge?  All I see is a champion blower.  The blower, If it is in good shape, is around $75-$150 where I generally see them.  If in bad or unknown shape the price plummets---there are basically *no* repair parts for those things and the cost of getting something made will generally exceed the cost of buying another one in good working condition.

So depending on where you live that deal is pretty even---if he can throw in any tongs, hammers, hardy tools, it can be a good to great deal.  (and don't get hung up on finding a "real" forge.  The blower is the important part the forge can be trivially built---even a hole in the ground will work!