I Forge Iron

What to use for a 12" chimney?

What are you guys using for 12" chimney's?  I have a "Super Sucker" type hood that I am installing and need to come up with the chimney pipe. It will go straight up through the pole barn roof (asphalt shingle). I am a novice on this type of thing so don't assume I know anything. I'm having a tough time finding single wall 12" wood stove pipe. People look at me like I'm crazy.......

Any help would be appreciated. 

Robert

HVAC can make it up for you.

Or you can put two pieces of smaller pipe together to make the 12 inch.

Do not build a box just so you can then think outside the same box.

Do not look for 12 inch chimney, but instead see what can be used instead.

Nothing wrong with using a 12 inch culvert. Bend a piece of 48 inch wide material into a box. No one ever said a chimney had to be round. Look for a old hot water tank,good pipe on the inside.

Don't know if they have them in your country; but here in the USA there are places called re-stores that sell donated construction materials for Habitat for Humanity.  I got my spiral seamed round commercial grade ductwork from them.  Got it on sale US$4 per 10' length.  Picked up a couple of stainless pieces too---way more pricey $10 for 4' and thick walled made for commercial kitchens I believe.

Since most flue type pipe is from sheet metal and they have a seam down the side,  Use 2 pc of 6 inch,  open the seam up and join into one 12 inch,  they do not make every possible size because they are pieced together to make the desired size.

One can also use the (15 gallon?) grease drums. Double wall is just an inch of cool wool between the layers ( use stainless for the inside or plan on periodic replacement). You still need a 2" stand off from the wood of your roof (none if its all steel roof) 12" pipe moves a lot of air, so the pipe is actually warm, not hot so unless something goes absolutely wrong there is a lot of fudge.