I Forge Iron

UK solid fuel choices

Greetings all. I'm an amateur blacksmith based on the western edge of Dartmoor. I've got a small hand-cracked side-blast forge which I currently fuel with lumpwood charcoal. Typically forging small stock (8-15mm) into garden, household and tool items - just for our own use and amusement.

I'm looking for other fuel options, both local bulk charcoal and coal or coke. What's available locally that any of you would recommend?

Cordialement

Dee

I started out with a hand cranked forge, it was pretty hard work with coke, not so bad with coal, well easier to keep alight but far more smokey. Dave Budd and John B are both pretty close to you and should be able to advise about the best suppliers in your area. If you have access to hardwood and can get a whole oil drum you could make your own charcoal... once you've done it a few times you should be able to produce decent stuff.

Hi Dee, if you are able to, come along to the Forge in at Exeter this coming weekend and you can see/try the coke we use, and have a play on the forge hearths, or just watch others demoing and working.

Ordinary household coal will work in a hand cranked forge/hearth, just have to learn the best way to manage that particular type and grade of coal you are using, some are better than others.

If you can't get along, we purchase our fuel from Symonds  at Clannaboro near Bow, or you could try Jeffries at Bovey Tracey

• 2 months later...

I must've missed this thread first time around, sorry Dee J!