I Forge Iron

Few technical questions needed to ask.

number1001

Hi All,

I am new to this hobby. I am trying to built a viking sword with 9260 steel because I like the flexibility of this steel.

My question are:

1. Where can I  buy this 9260 steel cheap -- dirt cheap

2. How good the the steel can hold for the edge compared with others

3. Are there any advantage if I fold the steel

4. How can I make color black and red out of the steel -- I saw it on ebay -- some katana use 1060 steel and able to produce this kind of color.

5. Casting vesus forge a sword which way is better in the menaning of produce a quality sword.

Thank you all in advance

1) see the suppliers lislting in the blade section.

2) define good, all blade edges are a compromise

3) none,  fyi: "folding" isnt as easy as TV and the video games make one think.

4) paint

5) casting is for bronze, not steel blades.

Please read up on this subject before you end up in a wild fire. Every question you have asked have been answered and explained in the blade section.    Start by  learning about basic forging, and read the knife chat lessons also in the blade section. There is a lot more to this site than  just the General Smithing section, and a lot more to making a functional sword than most think, I f you just want a blade to look cool and hang on  the walls, buy a 2 inch wide and 36 inch long section of steel,  grind away everything that dont look like a sword, and have fun.

I will relocate your post to the blade/sword section now.

So you're new, which is obvious, and you want to take on a very difficult project right out of the gate.

Have you ever done any metal working?

What kind of tools do you have?

Why 9260?

I could go on, but I'll answer your questions to start.

1)  Enough steel for you project will cost you in the neighborhood of $20 US, shipped.  If that is not cheap enough, perhaps you should consider just buying a sword.