I Forge Iron

New from Washington State

C.I.TR3

Hello All,

I have been lurking on the forum for quite a while and doing A LOT of reading.  What a great wealth of information on this site.  I am an aspiring beginner located north of Seattle Washington.  At this point my plan is to be mostly self taught based on reading books (The new Edge of the Anvil and The Art of Blacksmithing) and websites but I am hoping to find a weekend class locally that can help get me started on the right foot.  I know David Lisch at Studio 4 forge does some weekend classes and I am on his email list hoping he will do another one this fall.

In regards to tools, I am learning to weld as well and have just started working on building a forge.  After this post I will be heading to the gas forge forum to post some questions there.  I am also searching for an anvil but they seem to be difficult to come by in the northwest.  Based on my reading I have learned that the way to start is to tell everyone I am looking for one and to look on Craigslist.  I have started on both these tracks.

Anyway, thanks in advance for all the knowledge that is being shared on this forum.  I look forward to learning more from everyone.

Welcome. I spent 5 years out in Keyport Wa when my dad was stationed out there in the early 80's. In fact I got started in smithing because the Jr high I went to in Poulsbo had both a gas forge and gas foundry setup. I took every shop class I could while out there. I loved the area and would love one day to go back. My guess is it's no where near what it was like when I lived out there. Now it's all probably built up heavily. I know it was starting to when we left.