I Forge Iron

Can you Forge a Claw Hammer into a Cross Peen?

Now this is a question I have been asking myself for a while now. I have an old Claw Hammer, which is actually pretty new, that could serve me much better as a Cross Peen. I know this may seem absurd but I would sincerely like to know if anyone has tried it before, or anything similar. I am new to blacksmithing and I have so many questions, but I thought I might as well start with a good (difficult) question. I think, if it were attempted,that  you would have to ( Forge?) weld the claw side together and then forge them into a triangle shape, then heat treat and temper it. Again I am a complete Newbie to Blacksmithing but I am willing to learn!!!

Thanks Guys,

Jakob

P.S. Here are some photos of the Hammer:

post-40172-0-36271400-1371114566_thumb.jpost-40172-0-19521200-1371114602_thumb.jpost-40172-0-18238000-1371114638_thumb.jpost-40172-0-16205300-1371114678_thumb.j

Yes I can, No you probably can't until you get some skills under your belt.  Also clawhammers tend to be lighter than forging hammers with small faces.  So a task taking some pretty advanced skills to end up with a subpar forging hammer.  It would be easier to forge one from stock; say a nice beefy truck axle section. (check for hardenability before investing the effort!)

Yes I can, No you probably can't until you get some skills under your belt.  Also clawhammers tend to be lighter than forging hammers with small faces.  So a task taking some pretty advanced skills to end up with a subpar forging hammer.  It would be easier to forge one from stock; say a nice beefy truck axle section. (check for hardenability before investing the effort!)

And trust me once you have the skill you will have little interest in doing this.