I Forge Iron

Mastermyr hammer

Nick

Finished this today, a hammer based on the find at Mastermyr. The shape is that of Hammer 65, but it ended up being the dimensions of Hammer 67. Forged from an axle, all with hand hammers (including one I nicknamed Mjolinr.)

Dimensions of the head:
5 5/8" long, 1 1/8" wide, 18" tall

Dimensions of the handle:
11" (to the head), 1 1/4" wide, 7/8" deep

The handle is a modified store bought hickory handle, squared with a rasp plane and a sander, finished with linseed oil. This is the first hammer I've ever made (other than my little hammer pendants ;) ), I'm happy with how it turned out.

2944.attach

Jake, I have a copy of "The Mastermyr Find" by Arwidsson and Berg, where the images on that page came from.

I stamped ND and MMVII on the bottom, they show up a bit in a couple of the pictures.

It's a little odd to use right now, because the balance is so much different than any other hammer I own. The others are squat in comparison with the eye in the center. This one is long and thin with the eye closer to the face than the peen. However, it does feel good in the hand and I don't think it'll take to long to get used to. Hammers of this style were in use at least until the end of the Renaissance, based on woodcuts and illuminations.

2945.attach

2946.attach

2947.attach

2948.attach

2949.attach

Thank you very much, Rich :)

Jake, check this out: Centaur Forge-The Mastermyr Find I got my copy from the Centaur booth when I went to the Quad State Roundup.

Oakwood, it's from a large axle I picked up, so I'm not sure exactly of the steel. I got a bit of the scare when I quenched, I did a file test and it didn't seem to have hardened much. I reheated and water quenched and it hardened fine. The oil just didn't cool it fast enough. I did some tests after I handled it on the edge of cold steel and a square file with little or no marking.