I Forge Iron

Open House at Willowbank School (Queenston, ON)

Hey folks,

I'm not sure how many of you are local to the Niagara region, but figured I'd mention this just in case.

I'm currently a student a the School of Restoration Arts at Willowbank, in Queenston.  We're a post-secondary institution that teaches 'built heritage conservation' (i.e. maintaining and repairing heritage buildings).  

In a couple of weeks, we are having our annual open house.  It's an opportunity for both perspective students, and members of the general public to check out all of the exciting things that are going on at the school.

We will have dry stone walling, timber framing, stained glass, and stone carving amongst the demonstrations.  We're also going to have the forge going.  Lloyd Johnston (who is our current instructor) is coming to demo, along with myself and a few of the other students.

If any of you are in the area, it should be a fun day.  The estate itself is pretty cool, and his is one of the few opportunities for a tour of the house.  Its a Greek revival mansion, built around 1830; and is a National Historic Site.

Anyways, if any are interested, it's Saturday April 20th.  The info is on the school's website:

http://willowbank.ca/content/beta/home/school-of-restoration-arts/place/open-house/

Cheers,

Neil

Hi Neil, that's bad luck for me, I'm actually in the area at the moment but I'll be flying out April 18th. I was in the falls earlier today seeing friends, I was looking at the really awful ironwork that is around the falls (we went hiking in the glen and whirlpool). Shameful really!!!

Hey Colleen, I wish I'd seen your post sooner (the forum software hasn't been working for me on my phone)...

If you're still in the area, stop by tomorrow (Friday Apr 12). We've been having 1st year forge class this week and are at it tomorrow as well.