I Forge Iron

Need Help with Wizard bottle Opener

I am relatively new to blacksmithing and I am currently working my way through The Fundamentals of Blacksmithing by Mark Aspery.  I have been working on making the wizard bottle opener in his book and have done ok except for one part that I cannot for the life of me to get it to look right.   The problem I am having is when it calls for a half hammer face blow with the bottom edge of the eye socket just on the anvil to set the nose.  I usually end up flattening the nose or creating a line across the bottom of the socket.  Do any of you have an alternate way to make the nose or any tips or tricks?  I have used up multiple 2 1/2 foot sections of 1/2 inch square just trying to practice that step but with no success.  Attached are a few of my attempts..  Thanks in advance  

post-29573-0-93287000-1362501432_thumb.jpost-29573-0-32067200-1362501440_thumb.j

Looks fine to me.... At some point you have to accept the metal is not always going to do what you want it to do and move on.... May be next one will be more to your liking.... I'm just happy if item halfway resembles something I see in pics and it is "recognizable" by others at this time...

Dale

for an alternate method i suppose you could make a sort of butcher or set hammer (dont kill me if im calling it the wrong thing please!).  that way you can leave the stock flat on the anvil and manually place your indent and really be able to keep an eye one where it end up.  Taking a stab at what could be contributing to the line:

it looks like you might be punching the eye sockets a little deeper than they need to be, which means you have to chase your nose down further and you end up pushing up a large ridge around the outside of the eyes