I Forge Iron

Straightening my leg

ndnchf

I'm a newbie and I recently picked up this Columbian #2 vise. Its in good shape except for a little bit of a bend in the leg. What is the best way straighten it? Can it be done cold (it got bent cold) or is it safer to heat it up to a dark red first? I'd appreciate your insight and experience. Thanks - Steve

Columbiannumber2vise_zpsedac05e0.jpg

It would be best to heat it to a orange heat not heat it to dark red.  Steel when heated to the lower end of the visible heats is not really hot enough it is possible for the steel to crack at that heat especially if it has been strained before at that location.  If you are worried about ruining the nice old brown patina wire brush it wile it cools down it wont exactly match but it will look good.  Also you are missing a washer between the screw and the front jaw of the vise.  If you don't have that it will wear into the body of the vise. 

If it is only a slight bend (it looks that way) I would probably give it a few whacks and see if it straightens easily before I resorted to heating it.  Very small adjustments are often more easily done without heat anyway.  You can easily overcompensate with a hot adjustment.  I've straightened lots of tool steels that way.  Even springs can easily be curved/recurved cold and there is a spring manufacturer near me that does ALL their coil work cold... up to

1 1/4" diameter!  If you can cold coil 1 1/4" diameter stock it ought to be no tough job correcting a very slight bend in the leg of your vise.  

I need to take a better photo of the leg where the bend is. This one doesn't show it very well. When looking at the profile, I'd say the bend is about 1.5" - 2" off vertical at the bottom. I hadn't noticed the missing washer, thanks for the heads-up. I'll a search for similar columbians and see what it looks like. It shouldn't be hard to make.

Good Morning,