I Forge Iron

Learning without a teacher. trial and error

Just getting started in this as a hobby, built a brake drum forge got a couple hammers and chisels, and an anvil of course. thoughts of making knives and tomahawks got me interested now i am hooked.    i have made a couple wall hooks and attempted a couple sets of tongs.  youtube has been my only source of education.  I am in east tennesse and do not know of much blacksmithing that goes on around my area.    was wondering about good places to learn or pick up info other than trial and error or maybe a book that is really useful.  thanks for any help or suggestions. 

There are lots of self taught blacksmiths. 

Some have turned out to be highly skilled and have eventually learned to also work safely.

But that route is not for everyone.

I suggest that you read the following if you find the time!

http://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/31268-welcome-new-blacksmiths-here-are-a-few-suggestions/

My very best to you!

Ted Throckmorton 

Keep up the trial and error as well.   We all learn by mistakes.   Sometimes we have the benefit of a teacher beside us to point them out to us as we make them.  They can instruct us on the finer points and the why real time.    Other times we need to make them and then reflect and critigue ourselves as well as look to others and ask questions in order to improve.   BUt I think blacksmithing requires trial and error (Mistakes) in order to learn regardless.     Personally I enjoy the journey of learning.   These days when I try something that does not work I log it as learning and just add it to the file in my head.