I Forge Iron

Mig welding problem

I am a fairly new mig welder and am having problems using the magnetic welding clamps. They seem to interfere with the welding process- almost like unhooking the ground connection. A good bead and settings, weld a little, good quality, then add the magnetic clamps and it all turns to crap, spitting, popping and the bead all forms on one piece of metal with none sticking to the other piece being welded. The side with the bead can easily be knocked off.
What am I missing here? Can't use the mag clams with mig or ???

Thanks,

Dave

A positive ground is very important with MIG.  The ground should be as close as possiable to the work and the attachment area should be cleaned or ground.  Clamp directly to the work or clamp the work to the bench.  Clean where the metal meets for good ground. No paint, rust, corrousion. I have not had good luck with magnatic clamps for MIG.  Others may have, but I quit messing with them except for stick

Yeah your mag clamps are interfering with the mig welder by disrupting the arc characteristics. Use them in a remote location or mechanical clamps.

I like Tenino Wa. pretty country, heck I even know how it got it's name. Is the big old steam engine still on display?

Frosty The Lucky.

couple things on Mig welding. if by chance you are using Flux core wire you need to make sure the machine is set up with a Positive ground. if you use gas then it isn't as necessary.

secondly I have seen this issue with mag clamps and the old shop teacher I had said to wrap the ground cable around a iron bar or steel pipe to set the phase off. he said it disrupted the field in relation to the weld and and kept things from getting weird at the work level. since I have never had the issue with popping and bubbling using mag clamps I assume he had this scenario in mind.