I Forge Iron

Shreveport Louisiana looking for coal

Bacon

Hey there, I'm new to blacksmithing (started about three days ago)

I am in Shreveport Louisiana and was wondering if anyone know where I could get some coal. I can order it online for $20/50#'s but I was wondering if I could find a place I could drive too.
I am willing to drive a few hours and am looking to get a couple hundred pounds.

I saw some other posts from people in LA but they were in baton rouge and I don't plan on going that far, I've got smithing to do haha.

Well thanks for the help, I'll probably be needing lots of it as I go down this path

Also could  I get any comments on this forge mock up I am doing

27wrvr5.jpg

The dimensions are  24" long x 8" wide base (12" wide top) x 3" deep
The idea is that the circle hole will have a cover on it with small holes, thats where I will do most of my work. But when I need access to a long heat I can switch the airflow to the slots.

So comments? Suggestions?

And to give credit where credits is due, I got this shape and idea based off of Dan Brazzel, aka ModernBlacksmith

Welcome to IFI ! I hope you enjoy your journey into the mysteries of black smithing.  For coal there are several options for you to have coal shipped to you. Glenn Conner sells and ships coal , Glen is the webmaster and head man for I forge Iron. and sources of coal are on E-Bay as you found.  For your forge idea , go ahead and try it . I would not make a firepot so shallow, and so long. the deeper fire welds best with coal and forges best with charcoal. Many groceries and discount stores carry lump charcoal, don't use briquettes.

I'm currently using charcoal and it works well enough. How do I go about buying from Glen? I'm sure I'll find it once I look around but I'm on my phone

And I'd love to go down to the meet in Covington but I'm only in Louisiana till the 17th before I head to Virginia

Posted · Hidden by Glenn, January 17, 2013 - adverftising for Centaur