I Forge Iron

Anvil Stand Questions

DISCLAIMER: I am new to blacksmithing but not new to "mechanical things" or "fabrication"...

I have been reading for weeks on internet forums and looking at many images of anvil stands and have come to conclusion there is no definitive answer what constitutes a "proper anvil stand"... I have seen single pipe columns  and single vertical 'I" beams , and three legged and  four legged welded steel and  traditional wood "stumps" and laminated 2x4 and 4x4 and large (300 lb) concrete stands and various indescribable concepts....

I have a 100lb anvil and have fabricated a 4 legged stand and am having trouble leveling stand.. Ahhh!!!  Everyone will say the "one leg to long" syndrome.... But not so!.. it seems no matter where I put it on shop floor, its not lever, the floor that is,  after having marked legs for "adjustment" many times I can not determine what is longest leg.... Seems to be all legs are same length and floor is really the problem...

gallery_29850_11_36561.jpg

In graphic above the stand is mocked up and tack welded together. Legs are 2in square tubing and I intend to put a pad (3 inch square) at bottom of each leg so it is not hammered out of shape or beat into floor and permanently scaring floor.. So would it be ok to make one leg adjustable?... Its no problem to cut one leg short and add threaded insert and weld a bolt to one of the pads.... Would this be a problem or would this adjustment concept be beat into nothing useable over time... I was thinking something robust like a 3/4 inch bolt....

Also is it necessary to chain anvil down to stand as it sits in a upturned angle iron base and can't "walk" off stand....

Dale

Why not make a 3-legged stand?

You could take off the 2 legs on the horn end, and put one of them back, centered under the horn.

It would solve the stability issue, and it might make it easier to work around the anvil because there will be fewer legs getting in your way.

Regards,

Markus