I Forge Iron

HC Railroad Spikes in reach, but I need help

I am 17 years old, and I have been blacksmithing for two years. It's great fun, and the beauty is amazing. But to the actual topic point, I have recently gotten consent from the county to salvage an old section of railway (My mother works in the Clerks office, so finding permission wasn't all too difficult). And the reason that I wanted to salvage the old line, is because of the HC stampings on the spikes. So I have a small tractor, truck, trailer, and even a buddy who's got nothing else to do, but I have no idea how to disassemble the tracks. If I just wanted the tracks, I could just use a large cold set I've made to shear the spikes. But I want the spikes! So I know it's an odd question, but does anyone know the best way to go about this?

So this is second hand info from my buddy that used to work for a railroad, but I seem to recall him telling me about a piece of rolling equipment that pulls spikes.  Besides that, I searched around, and I think there is something called a 'claw bar' or a 'heel claw bar' that will pull spikes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gandy_dancer) but I don't have any idea where to get one.  You might be able to forge one, using the photo in the link as a guide.

Good Morning,

Old section of railroad will have loose spikes. Make a heel bar (like a crow bar) that will catch under the spikes. OR. Make a piece that you can slide under the spike head, that will have a loop or ring on the top, use a long bar on a fulcrum (piece of 2x4) to pop the spikes out. Maybe use the rail for the fulcrum.

You will learn quite a bit about how the railroad builds things. Pay attention and learn to work backwards of how it was assembled. It was assembled with quite large tools. Use your BRAIN and not all your BRAWN!! :)

Neil