I Forge Iron

Another one bite´s the BUG

pjakkur

Hi all

I am new to Blacksmitting (well havent started yet, building a forge) i am trying to let an old dream come true... and as this forum gave me the idea on how to build this forge, i like to share with you the progress ;)

this is the firepot... it has an opening of 13" X 10" and is 4 1/2" deep, it is made of 1/2" steelplate

yzhaxyog_Eldstæði_og_ýmislegt_103.JPG

and this is the air intake on top of the firepot. i think it is called Tuyere in english

znca8hai_Eldstæði_og_ýmislegt_099.JPG

im sorry if my english writing is a bit off as i am from Iceland and is not very good at writing english. :(

hopefully i can post more pic tomorrow

Very nice bit of welding, friend. Though, I am curious as to why your decided to angle the air pipe like that. Not saying it wouldn't work, just that I've never seen anyone do that before.

And don't worry about your english skills. You're doing great, and certainly better than a whole bunch of native english speakers that I know!!

"Very nice bit of welding, friend. Though, I am curious as to why your decided to angle the air pipe like that. Not saying it wouldn't work, just that I've never seen anyone do that before.

And don't worry about your english skills. You're doing great, and certainly better than a whole bunch of native english speakers that I know!!"

humm... i don´t know how to explain this other than saying "imagion driving your car straight in to a wall amd then driving your car from an angle in to a wall...

i am hoping to deflect most of the air away from the "ash pit"

humm... i don´t know how to explain this other than saying "imagion driving your car straight in to a wall amd then driving your car from an angle in to a wall...

i am hoping to deflect most of the air away from the "ash pit"

Wow, I've never thought of that before... but it seems logical. :D