I Forge Iron

What do you guys think of this forge design?

setlab

I was thinking I would run a full length of C channel all the way down the bottom of my forge to support the 2.5" thick firebrick floor. Also do you guys see any problems with the inswool keeping to the shape of the roof wedged in like it is in my drawing? This will be my first gas forge so I've never worked with fiber blanket before.

I'm going to make a moveable back wall to block off the back section I'm not going to be using. With my math a burner spaced about every 6" using the 350 cubic inch per 3/4" burner rule of thumb could bring the entire 24" length up to welding heat, not that I'll ever need that much heat.

What do you guys think of the interior detentions? Should I make it taller inside?

post-5321-0-55138900-1353457909_thumb.pn

You need to encapsulate the ceramic blanket. Ceramic (read glass). Do you really want to be breathing small particles of glass? Think Asbestosis. Some just coat the blanket with Plistix, Metrikote, or ITC-100. The problem with this is that the Infrared reflective products to not impart any strength. Every time you hit the wall with a piece of metal (and it will be often) you will poke a hole in the IR coating.

The fire brick is a heat sink.

I suggest casting over the blanket and casting the floor with Kast-0-Lite castable refractory about 1/2 inch thick then over coat that with Plistix or Metrikote.

Attached is my tutorial for building a gas forge.

Building a forge with that many burners is way over kill. When forging you will only be working about 6 inches. The additional heated metal is just causing additional scaling. Burners costing from $50.00 to $150.00 each is always a consideration.

Of course a long heat may be needed if heat treating a sword.

And then there are exceptions to every rule.

Builld a Gas Forge Tutorial1.pdf