I Forge Iron

Jig to Grind Rounding Hammer?

Crunch

I've been intrigued by Brian Brazeal's use of his rounding hammers, and although I'm a rank amateur metal banger, I've got it in my head that I want to make a hammer with a similar "squashed ball" die on one side of the hammer head and a fairly square, flat surface on the other side.

Since I'm such a noobie, I was planning to get a 3# drilling hammer or engineer's hammer from Harbor Freight, and then grind it myself.

As a woodworker, I'm a big fan of jigs for doing tricky machining jobs right the first time, so I'm trying to figure out a simple jig to make grinding the "squashed ball" side of the hammer easier.

I was thinking of temporarily epoxying an inch or two of dowel to one end of the hammer, and then pivoting the hammer head on the dowel to approximate the (4¾") "basketball" radius for the crown of the hammer, and then removing the dowel to get smaller radii as I grind out toward the edges of the hammer head...

Another idea was to tack-weld a piece of ½" drill rod to the center of the hammer head and (with the handle removed), chuck it in a drill press and run the drill press while grinding the radii with an angle grinder. Wish I had a lathe...

Has anyone here already "invented this wheel" and/or have any tips on how to do it? I'm hoping to not ruin too many hammers in the process...

Thanks in advance for any suggestions. And Brian, if you read this, thank you for the inspiration, instruction and great videos. They're real helpful.

Jeff

If you use a HF hammer there is the possibility that it's made of mild steel which gets case hardened so if you grind off more than a 1/16'' you'll get into soft mild steel....Then again you might have a HC hammer head, point is it's a crap shoot so if you can swing it buy a good quality hammer.

DB has the right idea, lock it in a vise and go at it with a grinder, preferably wit a soft pad or a flap wheel no coarser than 80 grit or less.