I Forge Iron

Introduction

kustomrod

Hello,

Just found the site. I have no experience with blacksmithing at the moment.

I have just started my Fitter & Turner Apprenticeship (3 months into it) and started looking into this side of things as I wanted to make some good cold chisels and centre punches.

Have had a read of a few posts on here and everyone seems to be very helpful, so be prepared for some dumb questions. Although the only dumb question is the one you don't ask.

I have access to a lot of tools at work, and there is even a forge there that has just become vacant as the blacksmith retired 6 months ago. Will need to ask them if I'm allowed to start it up or not.

I have a bit of 25mm (1") 4140 on my bench at work I was thinking might be good for making into the afore mentioned chisel and centre punch. Is this a good steel to use? Or should I be looking for something else? Also, how do I temper the tools (if thats the right term) so that they will hold their edge/point?

I will take some pictures of the setup at work and post them a bit later.

Cheers for now.
Ben

Sorry about that, I live in Brisbane, Australia. The smithy is located at Brisbane Water, part of the city council. The forge has been cold for 6 months now, and I still have to ask the boss if I'm able to use it. Seems a little bit of a waste it just sitting there unused.

Howdy from East TEXAS! and welcome to IFI.
RUN!! don't walk, to the retired blacksmith's house and do whatever you can to get him take you on as a student! Talk to the 'powers that be' about using the forge/smithy during off hours, (the retired blacksmith could help in that area) Offer to sign a release stating that the company is not liable for any accidents while working off hours. Do what you have to in order to get in that smithy! (within reason and legal that is ;) )