I Forge Iron

Cross pein to straight pein, good idea or waste of time?

der schmied

Ok, I used a straight pein recently and found that my striking with the pein end was much more accurate and the placement of the "divot" was where I wanted it, as opposed to with the cross pein. And, frankly, I just liked it better. Now, I happened to stumble across a few cross pein hammer heads in my in-law's barn the other day and got them for the best price going...FREE! I was wondering if it would be possible to forge the pein from cross to straight. Ok, I know its possible, but is it worth the time and effort? And thoughts would be appreciated. Also, keeping in mind that I'm new to smithing, if it's worth it, will this project be over my head or above my abbilities?

Just try it. Any hammer time is experience time.

Good point! Maybe I will just give it a shot and see what happens!

probably easier to start from scratch and forge a whole hammer

Im sure that forging a whole hammer IS above my skill set at this point. I dont even have punches, drifts or slitters made yet!

Why not forge the flat face and make a double peen cross/straight from one?

I've seen a fellow take a double jack hammer and make 2 45 deg peens on it using a hydraulic press----1 heat per peen!

Just take care to examine old hammer faces for cracks; you don't want to use them, though you might be able to cut off the cracked area making for a lighter but solid hammer.

Why not forge the flat face and make a double peen cross/straight from one?

I've seen a fellow take a double jack hammer and make 2 45 deg peens on it using a hydraulic press----1 heat per peen!

Just take care to examine old hammer faces for cracks; you don't want to use them, though you might be able to cut off the cracked area making for a lighter but solid hammer.

Very good idea! Thank you Thomas!