I Forge Iron

What did I do right? [Video]

My friends have been very interested in my blacksmithing so I decided to record my sessions for them to watch. I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to get some practical advice from those that know what they are talking about as it will be a while before I can get any proper training with another smith.

Now I realise that I will have done more wrong than right here and my technique and hammer control are likely horrible, but that is why I'm posting it here. What would you have done differently? Am I doing something that will likely kill me? I've been smithing for about 3 months, normally once or twice a week. I've forged a few knives and thought I'd have a go at a proper forge welding project, so I'm having a go at some tomahawks. Please excuse the mole grips... and the music, kindy excuse that too!

Don't worry about being harsh, any feedback is good feedback!

http://youtu.be/ijlE8tv91NY

Jake

Gundog, I really enjoyed your video. You put a lot of effort into it. I would like to suggest that you wear safety glasses all the time, not just while welding. Handling the hammer with a gloves hand has really bad control issues.
I place the hammer on the anvil face each time so it is always where I expect it to be when I want it.
When you can replace the plastic bucket.
All in all I think you did a great job with the video. You are well on your way.
Those with more experience than I will gladly offer advice.

Mark <><

The beauty of a clay lined forge is you can reline it when it starts to deteriorate. You can actually use subsoil dirt with little other treatment, but it won't last as long your recipe hopefully will.

The grips are killing me. Tongs are easy, if time consuming by hand. Look at youtube also. Make some fire tools while you are at it too.

You may want to draw out the reins on your first couple pair, but welding the reins on from a different shape and size of stock is another choice.