I Forge Iron

plistix over firebrick ?

first question from a complete noob building my first small firebrick forge, with a 1/2" black pipe tee burner.
The forge will have a welded angle-iron external skeleton/ frame, tightened up with all thread.
It likely won't be taken apart or reconfigured once assembled.
It will see occasional uise for heat-treating and forging of small parts for custom muzzleloader guns.
would there be any thermal efficiency or advantage to coating the inside surfaces of the soft firebrick with plisitix 900?
thanks for any insight... great site !
/mike

Definately coat either hard or soft brick with Plistix. You will be amazed at the difference. I suggest that you build the forge and use it, timing the length of time to get to forging temp. Then paint it with Plixtix or Metrikote and time it again. I suspect that you will see that with the Plistix it will take about half the time. Now, what does that mean? You will work twice as fast, use half as much gas,,,,,and work twice as hard.

Still working on my tiny little forge.
wondering if its obvious I need to tune the 1/2" tee burner ?
this is the flame with the temporary black iron flare:

ForgeBurner1.jpg

i then procured a 3" piece of stainless and flared it a bit and now the flame looks like this (at fairly high pressure - just under flame-out);

IMG_1495.jpg

this is with a .023 MIG jet, 4" black pipe, plus about another 1.5" of SS flare sticking past that.

heat chamber will be formed by these two firebricks assembled together, which will be surrounded on all sides by more bricks in final design.
Chamber will be about a 3"x5" oval, about 8" long and coated with Plistix.
IMG_1493.jpg

Am i in the ballpark ?
thanks for any tips, MIke

The burner will operate differently when it is actually shooting its flame into the forge.