I Forge Iron
Sign in to follow this  
Roger D

My try at Chainmail

Hi guys, i'm new to blacksmithing, and my parents aren't too keen to let me have a forge just yet. So I decided to try my hand at cold metal working. here are some pictures of my very first try at Chainmail.post-26018-0-21718300-1340952441_thumb.j post-26018-0-30330500-1340952454_thumb.j
this was after about an hour of me trying to undo random knots that kept happening lol

That looks good. I've wanted to try making chainmail, but I'm afraid of the tedium. Are you going to close the links? Just curious, as that looks to be the most miserable part.

That's actually considered "closed" according to all the tutorials i've watched on youtube. as long as i get the two ends of the circle to line up completely, the links don't fall out

Lots of gaps there how are you overlapping the links? Jump cutting or manually afterwards.

I am sure you know this already but both those examples are 90 degrees rotated from how they should be in a shirt.

When I did my shirt back in 1980 I made up a bunch of closed rings and strung them on a piece of wire and then everywhere they overlapped I put in the next link---a lot easier and faster than working the other ends where you have to fiddle and think.

Looks good for starting out. It looks like you use bolt cutters or aviation shears, correct? That being said, your closures could use some improvement. Try to butt the ends of the rings together so there is no gap.

Mr. Powers, most of the maille shirts I have seen have the "grain" running vertically, as shown in the photos.

He's right you had them spread out so neatly I mistook it for a rotated set up. Mea Maxima Culpa!

Jump cutting or manually afterwards.

No idea what Jump cutting is lol, sorry. i coil the wire up, and then cut the resulting spring.

It looks like you use bolt cutters or aviation shears, correct?

Correct, i used small bolt cutters.

Try to butt the ends of the rings together so there is no gap.