I Forge Iron

Building codes and how to deal with them

ckent

Hello all. Just wondering if anyone has any advice or suggestions on how to deal with local building codes and authorities. I am a carpenter by trade ( all though I hope to be making the change to blacksmith in the future). I ve had a few problems with clients who want work done that does not meet our local building codes here in Canada. I know that it sounds stupid but I get trouble on a daily basis from costumers who dont want to have to get permits. I know its wrong ( according to our laws) to install anything after the fact but I cant seem to find any ways to deal with them. The main problems that I have faced are open risers..... which Ive found a way to deal with, horizontal or non vertical members in the railing (climbing hazard), and spindle spacing. (not being able to pass a 4 inch ball through). People usually come to me with some idea of what they want and I hate having to shoot it down due to some minute detail. Some things such as what can be considered a climbing hazard are up to inspectors interperatation which kind of sucks because every time Ive approached an inspector to ask a hypothetical question I immediately get shot down for reasons of liability (they cant tell you what to do or what is acceptable they can only say "yes" or "no"). Ive thought about installing plexi glass over railings however they've said that its not a permanent solution because it can be easily removed later ( cant anything be removed for the right price?) . Does anyone here have any experience with applying for variances or anything like that? I ve been apart of quite a few multi million dollar projects where these things have slipped by and I cant seem to figure out how. Im not stuck in a jam or anything like that but Im just curious as to how so many others have gotten away with it. I know people dont want to give out their secrets because it'll only be a matter of time before other people exploit them and som